I’m LOVING this new ‘problem’!

When I went to the doctor to discuss my depression, she asked me the typical screening questions to see just how depressed I was. One of the one’s she asked was if I “never feel like there’s enough time in the day to get things done”. I chuckled at that and said “no”, because at that time I had no desire to do anything at all. My drive and enthusiasm for all things productive was gone.

Now I have a new problem: there’s not enough time in the day to do all the things I want to do! I love it! On January 1st, I pledged to do at least 30 minutes of exercise for the entire month. I also added vitamin D and Omega 3-6-9 supplements daily. I opted not to start the medication prescribed by the doctor until I had tried my natural approach to systemic healing. I’m so flippin’ glad I took this approach because I can say with certainty that it is not the medication that has improved my depression – it has been physical exercise and supplement s for the vitamins and minerals my body is lacking.

My February challenge is to eat a paleo-type diet, like our ancestors did. For 2 million years, they ate what they could hunt or gather, and as far as I know, didn’t have near the health problems we have now. I think it’s insane that 60% of Americans are obese or overweight. I think it’s insane that we make ourselves fat, and then go to the doctor for medication to make us less likely to keel over as a result of our poor health. I felt the same about depression. I think it’s crazy that depression is an epidemic. In my gut, I believe we’re doing it to ourselves. The obvious fact had to be pointed out to me that our ancestors of a few generations ago (pre-modernization) did not suffer the way we do from heart disease, cancer, obesity, depression and diabetes. Why not? What changed? Why, with all our amazing scientific and technological progress, are we worse off than before?  I want to know.

To test the theory that the food I’m eating is making me sick, I elected to have February’s challenge be to eat only whole foods. Nothing processed with added chemicals and preservatives. No sugar, no flour, no dairy. (The thought behind ‘no dairy’ was kind of cute. The book that served as my beacon for this month said it wasn’t likely that our ancestors captured a wild animal and milked it, so this was not likely a part of our original diet. I thought that was a pretty funny picture to paint.) The results so far: I’ve eaten as much of the allowable things as I’ve wanted, when I’ve wanted, and I lost 6 pounds. What those 6 pounds were, fat, waste build-up or water,  I don’t know.  But that seems pretty significant to me. I’m not dieting at all. In fact, I made a protein-style “In-and-Out” type burger (patty wrapped in lettuce vs. a bun) and it was delicious! My energy level is way up and my mind is firing on all four cylinders. There’s not enough hours in the day to do all that I want to do… Crazy good problem to have!

I’ve never thought to question the stuff offered to me for consumption. If it looked good in the store or on TV commercials, I bought it. But, in my search for getting better without popping a little magic pill, I stumbled on to a new set of ideas. It’s exciting and challenging, and so far, very rewarding. Hot damn, I think I’m on to something!

3 thoughts on “I’m LOVING this new ‘problem’!

  1. I’ve been hearing more and more mention of the Paleo Diet — you’ve encouraged me to look into it more! Surely it’s better for me than my current diet of Cheeto’s and bacon. (It’s OK; I eat my Activia right afterwards :)) No, it’s not that bad — but it’s not OK. What I eat. Thanks for the kick! And here’s to your new great feelings xo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

