Looking Ahead to My February Challenge

If it’s worth pledging and starting, it’s worth sticking with for the time of the commitment. It holds its original intrinsic value, but the value of completing what I said I’d do is equally important.

I feel really proud for sticking to my commitment of at least 30 minutes of exercise for the month of January (so far). I also feel better physically and mentally. Since I started taking Vitamin D and Omega 3 supplements, I’ve noticed a marked improvement to my mood and ability to concentrate. I picked up a prescription for generic Celexa but I think I’m going to wait to start taking it. I think I’m on to something here…

The idea of taking a pill to fix my depression feels like trying to dig up a tree by pulling off its leaves. I really believe I’ve done something to create the imbalance – poor diet, lack of physical movement, negative thinking – or a combination of all three. It surely takes less effort to take a pill, but it doesn’t feel like I’m taking responsibility for my health. The possible side-effects are awful! Why would I voluntarily subject myself to those often dangerous side-effects without first trying to sniff out and eliminate the root cause? If I try this new approach and it fails to yield results, I may decide the anti-depressant is the way to go again.

So, for February, as much as I’m scared to commit to it, I’m going to change my diet to one I’ve heard is more healthful and does well to end depression (as well as heart disease, Type 2 diabetes, excess weight or obesity and a host of other illnesses, allegedly) In my mind I’m screaming “no, don’t say you’re going to do that!” It’s a LOT of work. I really don’t know if I can do it. I’ve got a cook book to follow, but I’m not a very good cook! It says the recipes are simple, but any recipe for a non-cook is not simple! Plus, I don’t actually ‘enjoy’ cooking.  It’ll require me to give up processed foods, flours, most starchy vegetables and sugar for all but three meals a week. That eliminates nearly everything in my kitchen! Oh, am I nervous! That little pill would be sooo much easier! And to avoid making more than one dinner a night, I have to make it palatable for my family too.

This is a HUGE undertaking for me. The amount of time it’s going to take to meal plan and cook feels daunting. I’m a typical American that has gotten accustomed to fast and easy eating. But, I can do anything for a month, right? The possible benefit, the payoff, of feeling well is enough to motivate me to make the extra effort. If you’re curious about my motivation, check out this article.

Leave a Reply

